Place for student resources
Switch branches/tags
Nothing to show
Clone or download
Latest commit c955781 Jun 1, 2017

README.md

GA Logo

WDI ADA (Ada Lovelace)

Welcome to WDI ADA. This will be used for most of the information you will need as students. This includes important links, contact information, etc.

This repo has a wiki which you are encouraged to explore and expand as you learn more and discover useful resources for the class.

Contents


Contact Information

Instructional Team

Role Name Slack Email GitHub Enterprise
Instructional Lead Vincent Abruzzo @vincent.abruzzo vincent.abruzzo@generalassemb.ly vgabruzzo
Instructional Associate Kate Shishkina @shishkina katherine.shishkina@generalassemb.ly shishkina
Instructional Associate J Silverstein @jlr7245 j.silverstein@generalassemb.ly jlr7245
Instructional Associate ZacK Fine @zach zach.fine@generalassemb.ly zfine416
Teaching Assistant Dominic Farquharson @dfarquharson dominic.farquharson@generalassemb.ly dominic-farquharson
Teaching Assistant Matt Kersner @mattkersner matt.kersner@generalassemb.ly mattkersner

Class Roster

Name @Slack GitHub Git.GeneralAssemb.ly (GHE)
Aliaksei Babkou @albabkou albabkou albabkou
Robert Quant @robertq RobertDQuant RobertDQuant
Madeline Nelson-Folkersen @madelinemarie MadelineNF MadelineNF
Maleik Wynn @code-maleik maleikw maleikw
Josue Merisier @jozye-ga-wdi jozye1 jozye
Ahsan Ababsi @1abbasia 1abbasia 1abbasia
Zahra Abd'Allah @zahjay Zahjay zahjayab
Chimezie Anyaoha @chim-fu chimeziaya3 chimeziaya3
Jeffry Pichardo @jeffrey Jpichardo163 jpichardo
Justin Castillo @jcastillo JustinCase12 JustinC
Bunmi Alo @bunmialo bunmialo bunmialo
hassan elhabouz @elechassan elechassan elechassan
Lisa Louison @lisa.lou llouison llouison
Emel Lopez @emlopez emlop emlop
Muhammad Usman @muhammadusman askflow1111 askflow1111
Ahmed Sajib @ahmedtsajib ahmedtsajib ahmedtsajib
Pravesh Shrestha @pravesh977 pravesh977 pravesh
fahim bokhari @fahimbok fbokhari1890 fbokhari1890
Dalini Pillai @dalinipillai DaliniPillai dalinipillai
Donovan Taitt @donovan DTaitt DTaitt
Isaac Steinberg @isaacs philosophercode philosophercode
gayathri sriram @gayathri8692 gayathri8692 gayathri8692
Robert Provine @robertprovine robertprovine robertprovine
Dov Stokar @dohv Dohv dohv
David Spencer @dspencer dspencer926 dspencer926
Paul Sheldon @paulsheldon pbsjr pbsjr
John Bauer @john.bauer john-bauer johnbauer
Elsie Ing @elsie-i Elsie-I Elsie-II

Important Dates

Date Day of Week Event
March 27th Monday First day of class!
May 29th Monday Memorial Day
June 19th Monday Last day of class & graduation!

Daily Schedule

9:00AM - ATTENDANCE!!!

9:05AM - 9:50AM - Morning warm up

9:50AM - 9:55AM - Stand up

9:55AM - 10:00AM - Break

10:00AM - 1:00PM - Morning "Structured discussion"

1:00PM - 2:00PM - LUNCH

2:00PM - 4:30PM - Afternoon "Structured discussion"

4:30PM - 4:50PM - Homework give out, wrap up

4:50PM - ATTENDANCE!!!

Attendance

  • Attendance is taken at 9AM
  • No more than 4 unexcused absences
  • 3 tardies (more than 10 min late) = 1 absence
  • You MUST inform ALL your IAs if you are anticipating any absences or need to leave early or running late.

Homework submission

Every evening, before 11PM, you have to submit an issue ticket with a link to your own repository with where the homework lives. Here is an example

TA Hours

Monday, Tuesday, Thursday: 5PM - 9PM

Wednesday: 2PM - 6PM

Campus Hours

Monday - Thursday: 8am - 10pm

Friday: 8am - 6pm

Saturday & Sunday: 9am - 6pm

Course Outline

High level outline of topics we are going to cover.

  1. Unit 1: Front-End Web Development Foundations - HTML, CSS, & JavaScript
  2. Unit 2: Back-End & Full Stack Web Development Foundations - MVC, Node.js, Express, & PostgreSQL
  3. Unit 3: Front-End JavaScript Frameworks and Advanced JS - React
  4. Unit 4: Additional Technologies & Independent Work - Ruby on Rails, Final Project

Licensing

  • All content is licensed under a CC­BY­NC­SA 4.0 license.
  • All software code is licensed under GNU GPLv3. For commercial use or alternative licensing, please contact legal@ga.co.

P.S. NYC catalog